Lightning Chase Me Home by Amber  Lee Dodd
(Scholastic, 2019)

Lightning Chase Me Home

by Amber Lee Dodd

In the beginning there were no islands. Only sea as far as you could see. Until one day the serpent of the world awoke. With a flick of his great tail, the seas parted and an island sprung up. With a wobble of his body more islands sprung up and with a great toss of his head Dark Muir appeared from the waters.

Amelia Hester McLeod is named after two of her mum’s favourite explorers. Two amazing, fearless, awesome women: Amelia Earhart and Lady Hester Stanhope. But Amelia herself doesn’t always feel very brave or very bright. She’s lives on the tiny Scottish island of Dark Muir, her mum has walked out on her and she’s about to start a whole new, scary school.

But this is the story of the year that changed everything. The year she nearly destroys her home and loses her Da. The year she learns what it really means to be brave like the ladies she is named after. The year of disappearing.

A novel of courage and strength, packed full of adventure and heroics but also with beauty and love and warmth. A book to inspire, to share and to treasure when you need a little help navigating choppy waters. This is for readers of Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Katherine Rundell and Emma Carroll and for all the children who cherish GOOD NIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS.