We Are Giants by Amber  Lee Dodd
(Quercus, 2016)

We Are Giants

by Amber Lee Dodd

Sydney thinks her mum Amy is the best mother in the world, even if she is a bit different. When everyone else kept growing, Amy got to 124cm in height, and then stopped right there. The perfect height, in Sydney’s opinion: big enough to reach the ice-cream at the supermarket, small enough to be special.

Sydney’s dad died when she was only five, but her memories of him, her mum’s love, and the company of her brave big sister Jade means she never feels alone . . .

But when the family are forced to move house, things get tricky. Sydney and Jade must make new friends, deal with the bullies at their new school and generally figure out the business of growing up. But Sydney doesn’t want to grow up, not if it means getting bigger than her mum. And her mum is barely four feet tall.

Reviews

A total page-turner...very moving and touching.”
- Jacqueline Wilson
We Are Giants is one of those books that I didn't know I needed in my life until I owned it, but now that I do it has pride of place. I hope many readers find this treasure.”
- Luna's Little Library
It deals with topics that would be familiar to a lot of 9-12 year olds...refreshing and heartwarming, without being too sickly - well worth a read!”
- Waterstones Books Quarterly
This book will have you well and truly hooked from the opening chapter [...] It's a truly wonderful and touching book that doesn't shy away from some important and sensitive issues. We loved it to bits!”
- ReaditDaddy
An engaging story that will appeal to fans of Jacqueline Wilson... The story weaves in a very informative explanation of the challenges of dwarfism through the prejudice and practical challenges Sydney's mum has to face in her daily life...”
- Sue Magee, The Bookbag
...a touching and sensitive book, told with great insight and understanding; it is always realistic, does not gloss over the problems but gives a positive and encouraging spin. ”
- Parents in Touch
You can really relate to what they feel and think ... it's wonderfully written”
- Kat Winter – Guardian Children’s Books Site Young Reviewer, The Guardian
It was refreshing to see such a diverse family ... I found myself wrapped up in the story and read it in one sitting. It is a book that will keep you turning the pages wanting more ... A truly thoughtful and moving read.”
- BookLoverJo
An important story that will stay with you for years to come. We Are Giants is a beautiful book about growing up, moving on and accepting who we are. Sydney is a heroine who will climb into your heart and stay there.”
- Jane Elson, author
For readers of Lara Williamson and R J Palacio, this début promises to be an original and warm-hearted take on grief, growing up and living with a disability.”
- Fiona Noble, The Bookseller