We: A Manifesto for Modern Women by Gillian Anderson
(HarperCollins, 2017)

We: A Manifesto for Modern Women

by Gillian Anderson

Imagine a sisterhood—across all creeds and cultures. An unspoken agreement that we, as women, will support and encourage one another. That we will remember we don’t know what struggles each of us may be facing elsewhere in our lives and so we will assume that each of us is doing our best…

So begins We: an inspiring, empowering, and provocative manifesto for change. Change that we can all effect, one woman at a time. Change that provides a crucial and timely antidote to the “have-it-all” superwoman culture and instead focuses on what will make each and every one of us happier and more free. Change that provides an answer to the nagging sense of “is that it?” that almost all of us can succumb to when we wake in the dead of night.

Written by actress Gillian Anderson and journalist Jennifer Nadel—two friends who for the last decade have stumbled along together, learning, failing, crying, laughing, and trying again—We: is a not a theoretical treatise but instead a rallying cry to create a life that has greater meaning and purpose. Combining tools that are practical, psychological and spiritual, We: is both a process and a vision for a more fulfilling way of living. And a truly inspiring vision of a happier, more emotionally rewarding future we can all create together…

Reviews

We: A Manifesto for Women Everywhere is a bracing, honest, uplifting manual for changing the world by owning your gifts, telling the truth, expressing gratitude, and living with joy. It's for every woman, everywhere on the planet. Open to any page. And there you will find a truth that can set you free. We're all in this together. And We is the GPS for the journey.”
- Christiane Northrup, MD, author of Women's Bodies, Women's Wisdom
Warm and easy to use as a reference…Readers will find both specific and more holistic advice, essential practices, affirmations, reflections, aphorisms, and mantras. The overall effect is a journey by small steps, which could be inspiring material for discussion groups.”
- Booklist
Anderson and Nadel’s feminist manifesto is written as a practical guide for women, using many personal insights and struggles as the beginning point for what they hope will be a miraculous journey of individual and collective healing.”
- Publishers Weekly
Inspiring and provocative, it challenges the annoying concept of women “having it all,” and instead, using the authors' personal experiences and career trajectories, focuses on maximizing happiness and fulfillment. It’s actionable and girl power-y—just the kind of book we need right now.”
- PureWow
By focusing on the female experience and combining many well-known personal growth procedures, this guidebook offers a somewhat fresh perspective. Fans of Anderson and Nadel will be drawn to their accounts of striving toward self-actualization.”
- Library Journal