We All Begin As Strangers by Harriet Cummings
(Orion, 2017)

We All Begin As Strangers

by Harriet Cummings

It’s 1984, and summer is scorching in the ordinary English village of Heathcote.

What’s more, a mysterious figure is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows. Dubbed ‘the Fox’, he knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community believes the Fox is responsible.

But as the residents scramble to solve the mystery of Anna’s disappearance, little do they know it’s their darkest secrets the Fox is really after…

Inspired by a real 80’s mystery, and with pitch-perfect characters, We All Begin As Strangers is a beautiful debut novel perfect for fans of Joanna Cannon’s The Trouble With Goats and Sheep, Emma Healey’s Elizabeth is Missing and Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

Reviews

Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations”
- Caroline Lea, author of When the Sky Fell Apart
I so enjoyed We All Begin As Strangers. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people”
- Emylia Hall, author of The Book of Strangers
[A] dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange.”
- Wendy Holden, Daily Mail