Precious You by Helen Monks Takhar
(HarperCollins, 2020)

Precious You

by Helen Monks Takhar

A thriller that stands out not only as a skilfully plotted, gripping suspense, but crucially as a novel with a voice, socially aware with something important, timely, to say. It’s easy for women to assume other women have it easier than they do, and in Precious You it’s the exploration of female generation gaps that opens up painful questions and delivers disturbing answers.

You realise that while you weren’t looking, you stopped being young.

23 year old Lily is a millennial, a “fucking Snowflake”, a pious living, vegan moralist. Soft, entitled, squeamish. She’s got it easy. Katherine on the other hand is in her early 40s, a self-assured London home owner, a loving partner to share her life with, childless by choice. She’s got it all her own way.

When the two of them are thrown together, their professional and personal lives colliding, generational perceptions are tested as a deeply disturbing picture emerges of two women beset by loneliness and fear. Cruelly misunderstood.
As resentment deepens, and a secret threatens to explode, only one can live.

In this dark, compulsive debut thriller, Monks Takhar lays bare the horrors of middle-aged womanhood, but also the vitriol facing young adults through a page-turning, cat-and-mouse plot exploring toxic generation gaps. For fans of Hall’s Our Kind of Cruelty, Vaughan’s Anatomy of a Scandal, Kepnes’ You and Land’s Good Me, Bad Me.

Reviews

Monks Takhar tackles workplace dynamics, aging, feminism, mental illness, and the hotly debated generation gap, all within the framework of a tightly plotted revenge thriller that reads a bit like a less soapy 21st-century Single White Female. Readers won't be able to tear their eyes away as this runaway train inevitably derails. A wickedly sharp first novel from an author to watch.”
- Kirkus, starred review
Dark, disturbing, compulsive. I was genuinely terrified reading this.”
- Adele Parks, author of I Invited Her In
I gulped this down in a single afternoon. Audacious, dark and smart, with one of the most shocking scenes I’ve read in a while.”
- Phoebe Locke, author of The Tall Man
What a debut! Twisty, explosive and hugely compelling. Hints of Gone Girl and Exquisite by Sarah Stovell. EXCELLENT.”
- Will Dean, author of Dark Pines
A deliciously dark, addictive and twisted page-turner.”
- Alice Feeney, author of Sometimes I Lie
Disturbing, zeitgeisty and twisted, Precious You will make you second guess everything and change the way you look at your colleagues forever.”
- Phoebe Morgan, author of The Doll House
Precious You is an incredibly addictive thriller that examines women in the workplace, ageism, and the clash of generations. It's creepy and unnerving, with observations that are often dead-on. A breath-taking debut by Helen Monks Takhar.”
- Samantha Downing, author of My Lovely Wife
Twisted, dark and shocking. Absolutely terrific.”
- Jo Spain, author of The Confession
A brilliantly twisted tale. LOVED it.”
- Lisa Hall, author of Tell Me No Lies
If you like dark and twisted thrillers with venom in their veins, add this to your wishlist!”
- Anita Frank, author of The Lost Ones