Murder at the Mill by M. B.  Shaw
(Trapeze, Orion, 2017)

Murder at the Mill

by M. B. Shaw

A cosy mystery for the festive season, from Sunday Times bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe, writing as MB Shaw.

A picture hides a thousand lies … And only Iris Grey can uncover the truth

Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.

At the Wetherby’s Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime?

With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder.

As featured in the Sunday Times, the first mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie’s Marple and Midsomer Murders.

Reviews

A snowy Christmas mystery in a country village, intriguing characters and a twisty-turny plot...I loved this book and couldn't put it down. Fabulous!”
- Jill Mansel
A contemporary-set cosy crime novel that harks back to The Golden Age of detective fiction. Author Tilly Bagshawe writing under a pseudonym, introduces us to society portraitist Iris Grey whose Christmas country retreat is anything but when a body is found floating by the mill on Christmas Day, instead of tucking into turkey and all the trimmings, Iris finds herself caught up in all manner of sleuthing and intrigue.”
- RED Magazine
A nice little slice of festive whodunnit - just right for cosy winter afternoons”
- Katherine Woodfine, author of The Sinclair's Mysteries
A festering box of secrets, providing a Christmas cocktail of family lies and deliciously conceived murder.”
- Mandy Morton, author of The No. 2 Feline Detective Agency series
Be sure to start reading M.B. Shaw's evocatively written mystery early in the day, or else you'll be up late into the night-it's that unputdownable. ”
- Ellen Crosby, author of The Vineyard Victims
M.B. Shaw has penned a wonderfully layered mystery with a multifaceted amateur sleuth, artist Iris Grey. Ms. Shaw's English village setting made me feel like I was right there, and kept me reading until late into the night. I can't wait to see where Iris Grey's next artistic commission takes us.”
- Paige Shelton, New York Times bestselling author
Murder at the Mill by M. B. Shaw is a great sweeping adventure. Ideal for holiday reading.”
- M. C. Beaton, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author
Shaw has a shrewd eye for the vanities of contemporary life, and there is an acid in her voice that takes it a very long way from Agatha Christie.”
- Geoffrey Wansell, Daily Mail
Hunker down on the sofa with this fab slice of cosy crime.”
- Sun on Sunday