Sharon Cohen shortlisted for Branford Boase Award 2018

2nd May 2018

Sharon Cohen’s debut novel, The Starman and Me, has been shortlisted for the 2018 Branford Boase Award.

Now in its 19th year, the Branford Boase is considered to be one of the most important awards in children’s literature. Of the award, the Branford Boase panel chair and children’s director of the Hay Festival, Julia Eccleshare, said ‘Each year the Branford Boase Award discovers authors with outstanding talent and promise: this year is no exception.’

Read the full article >>

Xiaolu Guo shortlisted for RSL Ondaatje Prize 2018

19th April 2018

The RSL Ondaatje Prize, now in its 15th year, is an annual award of £10,000 for a distinguished work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry, best evoking the spirit of a place. Founded in 1820 the Royal Society of Literature is Britain’s national charity for the advancement of literature. In addition to the RSL Ondaatje Prize, the RSL runs the Encore Award for best second novel of the year, the V. S. Pritchett Short Story Prize, RSL Literature Matters Awards and the RSL Giles St Aubyn Awards for Non-Fiction, as well as regular events, and manages a schools outreach programme.

Read the full article >>

Elly Griffiths longlisted for Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award 2018

15th April 2018

Elly Griffiths’ novel, The Chalk Pit, has been longlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award 2018.

The prize was created to celebrate the very best in crime fiction and is open to UK and Irish crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1 May 2017 to 30 April 2018.

Read the full article >>

Job Vacancy: Finance Executive

3rd April 2018

We are looking for an experienced accounts and royalties executive to join the London office of our international literary agency.

Read the full article >>

Xiaolu Guo shortlisted for Rathbones Folio Prize 2018

29th March 2018

Xiaolu Guo’s memoir, Once Upon a Time in the East, has been shortlisted for the 2018 Rathbones Folio Prize.

A Wild Swans for a new generation, Once Upon a Time in the East takes Xiaolu from a run-down shack to film school in a rapidly changing Beijing, navigating the everyday peculiarity of modern China: censorship, underground art, Western boyfriends. In 2002 she leaves Beijing on a scholarship to study in Britain. Now, after a decade in Europe, her tale of East to West resonates with the insight that can only come from someone who is both an outsider and at home.

Read the full article >>

Xiaolu Guo wins NBCC Award 2017

16th March 2018

Xiaolu Guo’s memoir Nine Continents (Once Upon a Time in the East in the UK) has won the Autobiography category of the 2017 National Book Critics Circle Awards.

The awards, begun in 1975 and considered among the most prestigious in American letters, are the sole prizes bestowed by a jury of working critics and book-review editors.

Read the full article >>

Olivia Laing awarded Windham-Campbell Prize

9th March 2018

Olivia Laing is one of eight writers who have been recognised by the Windham-Campbell Prize. The judges said that she “searches the depths of the self” in her writing, and described her as “a cartographer of human emotion, mixing memoir, biography and critical engagement with an acute sense of place.”

Each recipient of the prize receives $165,000, which is intended to give them the freedom to write liberated from money worries.

Read the full article >>

Guo and Millwood Hargrave shortlisted for the Jhalak Prize

20th February 2018

Two Janklow authors have been shortlisted for the 2017 Jhalak Prize. Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s The Island at the End of Everything and Xiaolu Guo’s Once Upon A Time in the East are both on the shortlist which includes six books in total.

The prize, which was founded in 2017, works to highlight the quality and variety of work by writers of colour in contemporary Britain.

Read the full article >>

Griffiths hits the Sunday Times bestseller list

19th February 2018

The tenth book in Elly Griffiths’ Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries series, The Dark Angel hit the Sunday Times bestseller lists at number eight this week.

Forensic archaeologist Dr Ruth Galloway is off on a working holiday to Italy. But the sunny hills of Lazio hold secrets as dark as any buried in the Norfolk marshes.

Read the full article >>

Kiran Millwood Hargrave longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018

15th February 2018

Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s second novel, The Island at the End of Everything has been longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018.

Read the full article >>