Two Janklow authors longlisted for the 2017 Wellcome Prize

31st January 2017

Two of Janklow & Nesbit’s authors have received nominations for the 2017 Wellcome Prize longlist: Adam Rutherford for A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived, and Ed Yong for his debut I Contain Multitudes.

Read the full article >>

Carew Debut Wins at the Costa Book Awards

4th January 2017

Keggie Carew’s remarkable debut Dadland: A Journey Into Unchartered Territory has won the Costa Biography Award 2016. The book was hailed as “hilarious and heartbreaking” by the judges.

Keggie grew up under the spell of an unorthodox, enigmatic father. An undercover guerrilla agent during the Second World War, in peacetime he lived on his wits and dazzling charm. But these were not always enough to sustain a family.

Read the full article >>

FOOTBALL SCHOOL shortlisted for Blue Peter Book Awards

2nd December 2016

Alex Bellos and Ben Lyttleton’s Football School: Where Football Explains the World has been selected for the shortlist of the Blue Peter Book Awards 2017 for the Best Book with Facts category. The shortlist contains three titles in total, with another three titles in the Best Story category.

The enormously popular and influential Blue Peter Book Awards have been recognising and celebrating the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children since 2000.

Read the full article >>

Keggie Carew debut shortlisted for Costa Book Awards 2016

24th November 2016

Keggie Carew’s debut, Dadland, has been selected for the Biography category shortlist for this year’s Costa Book Awards. The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book - with one of the five winners chosen as Book of the Year, announced at an awards ceremony in London in January.

Read the full article >>

Anna Smaill debut wins Best Novel at 2016 World Fantasy Awards

31st October 2016

Anna Smaill has won Best Novel at this year’s World Fantasy Awards for her debut novel, The Chimes, which was also longlisted for the 2015 Man Booker Prize.

The Chimes is set in a reimagined London, in a world where people cannot form new memories, and the written word has been forbidden and destroyed.

In the absence of both memory and writing is music.

Read the full article >>

DEAR DATA finalist in Innovation By Design 2016 Awards

12th September 2016

Giorgia Lupi and Stefanie Posavec’s stunning book Dear Data is a 2016 finalist for Graphic Design & Data Vizualization in the Innovation by Design Awards.

This year’s entries represented an astonishingly strong survey of innovation around the globe—over 1,700 designs. Of those, only 321 finalists were crowned. Each of those projects represent what’s best about design today: Big ideas, meticulously thought-out details, and a clear viewpoint about how we live now—and how it could be better.

Read the full article >>

Alex Bellos wins best science blog award

1st August 2016

Alex Bellos, author of Snowflake Seashell Star, Alex’s Adventures in Numberland and Alex Through the Looking Glass, was on Saturday night presented with the Dr Katharine Giles Science blog award for his blog, Adventures in Numberland. The award was presented by the Association of British Science Writers at the Blue Dot festival at the Jodrell Bank observatory in Cheshire.

Read the full article >>

Elly Griffiths shortlisted for CWA Dagger in the Library

28th July 2016

Unlike most other literary prizes, the Dagger in the Library is awarded for an entire body of work rather than an individual book. Elly Griffiths is the author of the Dr Ruth Galloway series of forensic archaeology mysteries and the Stephens & Mephisto series, and her work has consistently received critical acclaim.

Read the full article >>

THE YEAR OF THE RUNAWAYS wins the Literature prize at the South Bank Sky Arts Awards

6th June 2016

Sunjeev Sahota’s Booker-shortlisted The Year of the Runaways was honoured with the Literature prize at Sunday’s South Bank Sky Arts Awards. Now celebrating their 20th anniversary, the awards are presented annually to “the very best of British culture and achievement.”

Read the full article >>

THE YEAR OF THE RUNAWAYS wins the Encore Award 2015

2nd June 2016

Sunjeev’s Sahota’s second novel, the Booker-shortlisted The Year of the Runaways, has won the Encore Award for 2015, which celebrates the literary achievements of outstanding second novels.

Read the full article >>