The Problem With My N***** Penis by Obioma Ugoala
(Simon & Schuster, 2022)

The Problem With My N***** Penis

by Obioma Ugoala

Everything about my upbringing from my family, to my friends, to my teammates on the rugby pitch was steeped in race, status and sex.

Each time somebody said that I was “just their type”.

Each time a partner wistfully imagined how beautiful our brown babies would be.

Each time somebody called me a nigger in the bedroom.

The Problem with my N***** Penis is a frank examination of Obi’s life as a Black man growing up in London and the honest retelling of how he got to be here. The child of an interracial relationship, it is an unfiltered interrogation of how race and sex have narrowed and defined his identity but most importantly it speaks to the urgency of this conversation, and the common mistakes we make in raising all our children, not just our young Black boys, offering a blueprint for how we can move forward.

A powerful memoir and manifesto for readers of Candice Brathwaite’s I AM NOT YOUR BABY MOTHER, Akala’s NATIVES and Reni Eddo-Lodge’s WHY I’M NO LONGER TALKING TO WHITE PEOPLE ABOUT RACE, Obi offers readers an insight into why the topic of race and gender in Britain are so connected. Challenging some of our most accepted truths, this is an urgent piece of writing that will shock, inspire and motivate.