Adam Marek

Adam Marek is an award-winning writer of short stories that combine the surreal and absurd with every-day life. He won the 2011 Arts Foundation Short Story Fellowship, and was shortlisted for the inaugural Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award and the Edge Hill Short Story Prize. His stories have appeared on BBC Radio 4, and in many magazines and anthologies, including Prospect and The Sunday Times Magazine, and The Penguin Book of the British Short Story. His short story collections The Stone Thrower and Instruction Manual for Swallowing are published in the UK by Comma Press, and in North America by ECW Press.

Visit Adam online at:

“Early McEwan meets David Cronenberg…Genuine, unsettling talent.”
The Independent

“…this bold young writer is refreshing the form.”
Financial Times

“…hits the target every time.”
The Guardian

“Adam Marek is one of the best things to have happened to the short story this century…Any day now the word ‘Marekian’ is going to enter the language.”
Alison MacLeod, author of ‘Unexploded’


The Stone Thrower

The Stone Thrower

Comma Press, 2012