Wellcome Book Prize 2014

26th February 2014

The shortlist for the Wellcome Book Prize 2014 has been announced by the chair of judges, poet Andrew Motion: Adam Rutherford, author of Creation: The Origin of Life/The Future of Life, will be competing against Elizabeth Gilbert, Emily Mayhew, Oliver Sacks, Andrew Solomon and Sarah Wise for this year’s Prize, which will be presented at a ceremony at Wellcome Collection on 29th April.

The shortlist was decided by a panel of judges comprising author Lisa Appignanesi, journalist Hadley Freeman, scientist and TV presenter Michael Mosley, former Poet Laureate Andrew Motion (chair), and novelist and Head of Spoken Word at the Southbank Centre James Runcie.

The Wellcome Book Prize, which was relaunched in November to celebrate its fifth anniversary, will award £30 000 (an increase from £25 000) to the best book of fiction or non-fiction from 2013 which leads on a medical theme.