Wolf wins Authors’ Club Best First Novel Award

4th June 2014

Jack Wolf has won the Authors’ Club Best First Novel Award for The Tale of Raw Head and Bloody Bones (Chatto & Windus).

The prize worth £2500 was awarded last night at the National Liberal Club by guest adjudicator Isabel Wolff. Jack beat strong competition from the other shortlisted authors to win the award, including Eimear McBride, Gavin Extence and Kevin Maher.

From its inception in 1954, the award has gone to writers who have subsequently enjoyed distinguished careers, including Brian Moore for The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne, Alan Sillitoe for Saturday Night and Sunday Morning and Paul Bailey for At the Jerusalem. Recent winners have included Nicola Monaghan, Laura Beatty, Anthony Quinn, Jonathan Kemp, Kevin Barry, and most recently Ros Barber and I.J. Kay.

Full shortlist:

• The Trader of Saigon by Lucy Cruickshanks (Heron)
• The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence (Hodder)
• The Fields by Kevin Maher (Little, Brown)
• A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing by Eimear McBride (Galley Beggar)
• The Banner of the Passing Cloud by Anthea Nicholson (Granta)
• The Tale of Raw Head and Bloody Bones by Jack Wolf (Chatto)

More information about the prize can be found here www.authorsclub.co.uk/?page_id=360

Related Books