I AM A BOOK Shortlisted for Royal Society Young People’s Book Prize 2021

22nd September 2021

We’re delighted to share that Stefanie Posavec and Miriam Quick’s I am a book. I am a portal to the universe. has been shortlisted for the Royal Society young People’s Book Prize. The prize aims to promote literacy in young people and to inspire them to read about science. It also supports the writing of excellent, accessible STEM books for under-14s.

The winner will be announced February 2022.

Read the full article >>

Andrew Harding Wins 2021 Sunday Times CNA Literary Awards

16th September 2021

We’re thrilled to announce Andrew Harding has won the 2021 Sunday Times CNA Literary Awards for These Are Not Gentle People. The prestigious prize celebrates contemporary writers in South Africa.

Chair of judges for the non-fiction prize Griffin Shea said ‘This literary feast showed us the courage of SA’s journalists, the intelligence of our academics, and the heart of our memoirists. Harding’s book peers minutely into the complexities around land, crime and race.’

Read the full article >>

THE NIGHT HAWKS Spends Second Week in Top Ten

2nd September 2021

Huge congratulations to Elly Griffiths who is at number 3 in the Official UK Top 50 with THE NIGHT HAWKS.

In the latest instalment of the Ruth Galloway novels, Dr Ruth Galloway returns to the moody and beautiful landscape of North Norfolk to confront another killer. A devastating new case for our favourite forensic archaeologist in this acclaimed and bestselling crime series.

Read the full article >>

Elly Griffiths to Pen New Marple Story

2nd September 2021

Elly Griffiths is one of twelve bestselling authors contributing to a new Miss Marple short story collection. Each author will reimagine Christie’s Marple through their own unique perspective while staying true to the hallmarks of a traditional mystery.

The collection will be published by HarperCollins in September 2022.

Read the full article >>

Nathaniel Alcaraz-Stapleton and Mairi Friesen-Escandell Appointed as Co-Directors

9th July 2021

Janklow & Nesbit UK are delighted to welcome Nathaniel and Mairi to the foreign rights team.

Nathaniel joins us from Hachette where he was head of rights at Headline and in August, Mairi will move from A M Heath where she is currently a rights agent.

Ellis Hazelgrove, who has been at Janklow & Nesbit since 2018, has been promoted to senior rights manager.

Read the full article >>

THE MERCIES Chosen for Richard and Judy Summer Book Club Selection

9th July 2021

Already a Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick, Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s The Mercies has been selected for Richard & Judy’s Summer Book Club Selection.

Inspired by the real events of the Vardø storm and the 1620 witch trials,
The Mercies is the story of love, evil, and obsession, at the everdark edge of civilisation. Richard Madeley said: “It’s also about stunning landscapes, fascinating characters and is simply a wonderful story. We both loved it.”

Read the full article >>

THE MINISTRY OF GUIDANCE by Golnoosh Nour Longlisted for Polari Book Prize 2021

29th June 2021

Golnoosh Nour’s powerful collection of stories THE MINISTRY OF GUIDANCE has been longlisted for the Polari Book Prize. The Polari Prize celebrates LGBTQ+ literature and is the first and largest award to do so in the UK.

The Polari Prize has two categories, one for emerging writers, and one for already established authors. Paul Burston, Polari Salon founder, said: “Between them, these two longlists showcase the very best in LGBTQ+ writing talent in the UK today. This Pride month, these are books which tell our truths and are truly worth celebrating.”

Read the full article >>

Paul Torday Prize 2021 Win for IN LOVE WITH GEORGE ELIOT

24th June 2021

We are thrilled to share that Kathy O’Shaughnessy has won this year’s The Paul Torday Prize for her “beautifully conceived and cleverly executed…”
debut novel.

Who was the real George Eliot? IN LOVE WITH GEORGE ELIOT is a glorious debut novel which tells the compelling story of England’s greatest woman novelist as you’ve never read it before.

Read the full article >>

Ed Yong Wins 2021 Pulitzer Prize

15th June 2021

Ed Yong has been awarded the 2021 Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Reporting for his coverage of the coronavirus pandemic in The Atlantic. He has continued to write definitive and nuanced pieces on the dangers of the pandemic and how the American Government failed in its response. His article How the Pandemic Will End is The Atlantic’s most read story.

Read the full article >>

CWA Dagger Awards 2021 Include Three Janklow Authors

20th May 2021

We’re immensely proud to see Elly Griffiths, Andrew Harding and Becky Cooper shortlisted for this year’s CWA Dagger Awards.

Elly Griffiths is nominated for the CWA Gold Dagger for best crime novel with THE POSTSCRIPT MURDERS. Andrew Harding’s THESE ARE NOT GENTLE PEOPLE and Becky Cooper’s WE KEEP THE DEAD CLOSE are both up for the CWA ALCS Gold Dagger Award for non-fiction.

Winners will be announced 1st July during a virtual awards ceremony.

Read the full article >>