Terry Stiastny wins Political Fiction Book of the Year!

29th January 2015

Last night, at an awards ceremony held at the BFI IMAX cinema, Terry Stiastny was awarded Political Fiction Book of the Year for her debut novel, Acts of Omission.

The Paddy Power Political Book Awards cover all areas of political writing. Other awards presented on the night included Political Book of the Year, Political Biography of the Year, Polemic of the Year, Political History Book of the Year in association with News UK, the Political Humour and Satire Book of the Year, International Affairs Book of the Year and Practical Politics Book of the Year. This year, to commemorate the centenary of the outbreak of the First World War, there was also an award for Best Book on World War One. A total of 62 books were shortlisted across all 10 categories. There was also a Lifetime Achievement Award in Political Literature.

The judging panels were made up of leading political figures, political journalists and people from the world of publishing, including Lord Ashcroft KCMG PC, Charles Clarke, Yasmin Alibhai-Brown, Damian McBride, Ann Treneman, Andrew Mitchell, Caroline Michel, Marilyn Warnick and Mary Beard.

Iain Dale, founder of the awards, said: ‘2015 is a massive year for everyone in politics, and by definition anyone who writes about it. The role of these awards in showcasing and encouraging the finest political writing has never been more significant. These are the books that have helped shape our thinking and will continue to do so right up to the general election and beyond.’

Related Books

Acts of Omission

Acts of Omission

John Murray, 2014