Gavin McCrea Longlisted for 2015 Green Carnation Prize

8th October 2015

Gavin McCrea’s début novel, Mrs Engels, joins the twelve strong longlist of titles celebrating LGBT writing announced after hours of debates between the judges over an exceptional list of submissions, the most the prize has seen in its history to date. Once again, with a list including fiction - from debut novelists to well established literary faces - non-fiction and poetry, the Green Carnation proves itself as one of the most diverse prizes.

• Blood Relatives – Stevan Alcock (4th Estate)
• Deep Lane – Mark Doty (Jonathan Cape)
• Sophie and the Sibyl – Patricia Duncker (Bloomsbury)
• Artwash: Big Oil and the Arts – Mel Evans (Pluto Press)
• A Place Called Winter – Patrick Gale (Tinder Press)
• Chasing the Scream – Johann Hari (Bloomsbury Circus)
• A Brief History of Seven Killings – Marlon James (OneWorld)
• The Gracekeepers – Kirsty Logan (Harvill Secker)
• Mrs Engels – Gavin McCrea (Scribe)
• Stammered Songbook – Erwin Mortier (Pushkin Press)
• Don’t Let Him Know – Sandip Roy (Bloomsbury)
• The Curator – Jacques Strauss (Jonathan Cape)

Chair of the judges for 2015, author Niven Govinden said of the longlist “After a long summer of reading and discussion, I’m delighted that we have produced an incredibly strong longlist, chosen from a substantial and eclectic range of submissions. The twelve books selected - all markers of excellence - will hopefully challenge and resonate with readers, and be loved too.”

Simon Heafield, Marketing Manager for the prize’s partner Foyles said “The Green Carnation Prize has once again produced a longlist of fantastic quality and dazzling variety. I’m sure any of our customers could find a book to fall in love with on this list; we’re delighted to continue our partnership with the Prize, and to have the opportunity to highlight these remarkable books.”

The Green Carnation Prize is a prize awarded to LGBT writers for any form of the written word, in any genre, as well as novels in translation.

The shortlist for the prize will be announced on Thursday the 5th of November.

For more information please visit: or

Related Books

Mrs Engels

Mrs Engels

Scribe, 2015