Elly Griffiths longlisted for 2016 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year

19th April 2016|Literary Awards

Elly Griffiths’ The Ghost Fields has been longlisted for the 2016 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, one of the most prestigious crime writing prizes in the country.

Now in its twelfth year, the award was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing. The longlist comprises 18 titles and was selected by an academy of crime writing authors, agents, editors, reviewers, members of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival Programming Committee and representatives from T&R Theakston Ltd and WHSmith.

The shortlist of six titles will be announced on 31st May. The overall winner will be decided by the judges alongside a public vote, which opens on 1st July and closes 15th July.

The winner will be announced on 21st July, on the opening night of the 14th Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate.

Executive director of T&R Theakston, Simon Theakston, said: “2016’s longlist shows that the crime genre is in incredibly robust health. It’s a showcase of some of the best authors in the world, and shows that the genre is the most influential when it comes to shaping publishing and popular culture. It’s incredibly exciting to see such strong new voices on the list, and it will no doubt be a hotly-contended award.”

Gemma Rowland, Literature Festivals Manager at Harrogate International Festivals, said: “The list demonstrates that even the giants of the genre are constantly kept on their toes, with debut voices as serious contenders. Last year’s winner was a debut from Sarah Hilary. It really shows whoever wins this year will know they’ve been pitted against the biggest talent at work today.”

Related Books

The Ghost Fields

The Ghost Fields

Quercus, 2015
The Crossing Places

The Crossing Places

Quercus, 2009