Anna Smaill debut wins Best Novel at 2016 World Fantasy Awards

31st October 2016|Literary Awards

Anna Smaill has won Best Novel at this year’s World Fantasy Awards for her debut novel, The Chimes, which was also longlisted for the 2015 Man Booker Prize.

The Chimes is set in a reimagined London, in a world where people cannot form new memories, and the written word has been forbidden and destroyed.

In the absence of both memory and writing is music.

In a world where the past is a mystery, each new day feels the same as the last, and before is blasphony, all appears lost. But Simon Wythern, a young man who arrives in London seeking the truth about what really happened to his parents, discovers he has a gift that could change all of this forever.

The World Fantasy Awards are voted on by attendees and judges at the annual World Fantasy Convention, held this year in Ohio. Other shortlisted titles for this year’s Novel category included Kazuo Ishiguro’s The Buried Giant and N. K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season. Previous winners in this category include Ursula Le Guin, Gene Wolfe, Jack Vance, China Miéville and David Mitchell.

Related Books

The Chimes

The Chimes

Sceptre, 2015