Two Janklow authors longlisted for the 2017 Wellcome Prize

31st January 2017|Literary Awards

Two of Janklow & Nesbit’s authors have received nominations for the 2017 Wellcome Prize longlist: Adam Rutherford for A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived, and Ed Yong for his debut I Contain Multitudes.

Crime writer Val McDermid, who is chairing the judges this year, spoke out for the importance of both arts and science in an interview in the Guardian, saying that developments in education meant that the Wellcome Prize was more important than ever because it focuses on making science accessible through both fiction and nonfiction.

The twelve books on the longlist include seven factual and five fiction titles. Wellcome have sponsored a literary science prize since 1998, redefining it in 2009 to an award which “celebrates the topics of health and medicine in literature.”

The 2017 shortlist will be announced on the 14th March, at the London Book Fair, and the winner will be revealed on the 24th April at a ceremony at the Wellcome Collection.

Related Books

I Contain Multitudes

I Contain Multitudes

The Bodley Head/ UK and Ecco/US, 2016