Kiran Millwood Hargrave wins Waterstones Book of the Year 2017

31st March 2017|Literary Awards

The winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book of the Year 2017 is Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s extraordinary debut, The Girl of Ink & Stars!

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize is voted for by booksellers, and is split into three categories. Kiran scooped up the prize in the Younger Fiction category, before being announced as the overall winner of this year’s prize.

Waterstones’ Managing Director, James Daunt, said: “We have a sensationally good winner, a work of imagination and drive that will command a special place on the bookshelves of many generations of readers to come.”

Set at the start of the Golden Age of mapmaking, The Girl of Ink & Stars is inspired by the Canarian myth of Guayota and his demon-dogs.

Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella dreams of the faraway lands her cartographer father once mapped. When her friend disappears, she volunteers to guide the search. The world beyond the walls is a monster-filled wasteland - and beneath the dry rivers and smoking mountains, a fire demon is stirring. Following her map, her heart and an ancient myth, Isabella discovers the true end of her journey: to save the island itself.

Waterstones’ Children’s Buyer and Judge, Florentyna Martin, said: “It is always exciting when we see this level of outstanding talent in a new writer, and Kiran has crafted a mesmerising world full of myths, magic and adventure that evokes an atmosphere akin to Pullman’s His Dark Materials.”

Kiran’s second book, The Island at the End of Everything, will be released on 4th May 2017.

Related Books

The Girl of Ink and Stars

The Girl of Ink and Stars

Chicken House (UK), Knopf (US), 2016