Kiran Millwood Hargrave longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018

15th February 2018|Literary Awards

Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s second novel, The Island at the End of Everything has been longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018.

Amihan lives on Culion Island, where some of the inhabitants - including her mother - have leprosy. Ami loves her home - with its blue seas and lush forests, Culion is all she has ever known. But the arrival of malicious government official Mr Zamora changes her world forever: islanders untouched by sickness are forced to leave. Banished across the sea, she’s desperate to return, and finds a strange and fragile hope in a colony of butterflies. Can they lead her home before it’s too late?

The award, along with its sister prize the Kate Greenaway Medal, is the UK’s oldest book award for children and young people. The medals are judged by children’s librarians.

The shortlist will be announced on Thursday 15th March 2018, with the winners being revealed on Monday 18th June 2018.

Related Books

The Girl of Ink and Stars

The Girl of Ink and Stars

Chicken House (UK), Knopf (US), 2016