Elly Griffiths Longlisted for Theakston Old Peculiar Crime Novel Award

15th April 2019

The 2019 longlist for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award sees the return of previous shortlisted author Elly Griffiths, with her latest Ruth Galloway novel, The Dark Angel.

The award is run in partnership with T&R Theakston Ltd, WHSmith, and The Mail on Sunday.

The longlist of 18 titles were selected by an Academy of crime writing authors, agents, editors, reviewers and members of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival Programming Committee.

Titles will be promoted in a dedicated online campaign with WHSmith and a nationwide library promotion.

The shortlist of six titles will be announced on 19 May.

The winner will be announced at an award ceremony hosted by broadcaster Mark Lawson on 18 July on the opening night of the 17th Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival at the Old Swan Hotel, Harrogate. They’ll receive a £3,000 cash prize, as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakston Old Peculier.

The night will also feature the Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award, with past recipients over the years including PD James, Ruth Rendell, Reginald Hill and Colin Dexter.

Related Books

The Dark Angel

The Dark Angel

Quercus, 2018