Anna-Marie Crowhurst and Ian Ross Longlisted for HWA Crown Award 2019

25th July 2019

Anna-Marie Crowhurst’s The Illumination of Ursula Flight and Ian Ross’ Triumph In Dust have been longlisted for the Historical Writers Association Crown Award 2019, announced on the 23rd July.

Crowhurst and Ross are two of thirty-six hopeful authors, divided into three categories: Debut, Non-Fiction and Gold. The prize is designed to reflect the HWA’s remit “to promote and support historical writing in all its forms”.

The Illumination of Ursula Flight is in the Debut category, accompanied by Janklow & Nesbit Associates author Namwali Serpell with her novel, The Old Drift. They are both joined by:

The Familiars by Stacey Halls
Only Killers and Thieves by Paul Howarth
The Conviction of Cora Burns by Carolyn Kirby
The Glass Woman by Caroline Lea
As the Women Lay Dreaming by Donald S Murray
Dear Mrs Bird by A J Pearce
Blood and Sugar by Laura Shepherd Robinson
The Confessions of the Fox by Jordy Rosenberg
The Age of Light by Whitney Scharer
Blackberry and Wild Rose by Sonia Velton

Triumph in Dust is in the Gold category, and is joined by:

Little by Edward Carey
The Lighthousekeeper’s Daughter by Hazel Gaynor
The Murder of Harriet Monkton by Elizabeth Haynes
Lancelot by Giles Kristian
Dark Water by Elizabeth Lowry
Smoke and Ashes by Abir Mukherjee
Mrs Whistler by Matthew Plampin
Tombland by CJ Sansom
Treachery of Spies by Manda Scott
Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield
Caligula by SJ Turney

The 2019 judges are:

HWA Debut Crown
Elizabeth Fremantle, Susan Heads & Ayo Onatade (Chair)
HWA Sharpe Books Non-Fiction Crown
Richard Foreman, Jason Goodwin (Chair), Roger Moorhouse, Alex von Tunzelmann
HWA Gold Crown
Kate Atherton, Victoria Blake, Robin Carter, Helen Nugent, Antonia Senior (Chair)

The winners will be announced later this year.

Related Books

Triumph in Dust

Triumph in Dust

Head of Zeus, 2019