Derek Miller Shortlisted for CWA Gold Dagger

25th July 2019

Derek Miller’s American by Day has been shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger Award 2019.

This award is for the best crime novel by an author of any nationality, originally written in English, first published in the UK during the Judging Period. The broadest definition of the crime novel defines eligible books including thrillers, suspense novels and spy fiction.

In the Gold Dagger category, Derek Miller is up against M W Craven’s The Puppet Show (Constable) and What We Did (Sphere) by Christobel Kent. Donna Leon’s Unto Us a Son is Given (William Heinemann); Claire Askew’s All the Hidden Truths (Hodder & Stoughton) and Benjamin Wood’s A Station on the Path to Somewhere Better (Scribner) are also in contention.

Linda Stratmann, chair of the Crime Writers’ Association, said: “The Daggers are unparalleled for their longevity and reputation. Receiving a Dagger award is a something of a holy grail for authors. The CWA prides itself on supporting crime authors by not just recognising established names but as a platform for debut novelists and emerging writers.”

The winners will be announced at the Dagger Award ceremony at the Grange City Hotel, London, on 24th October where Robert Goddard will be awarded the lifetime achievement award.

Related Books

American by Day

American by Day

Doubleday (UK), HMH (US), 2018