Henry Porter Shortlisted for Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize 2019

16th May 2019

The Wilbur Smith Adventure Prize shortlist has been revealed with Henry Porter’s Firefly being one of six novels nominated for the £15,000 prize.

Celebrating the best adventure novels published between 1st May 2018 and 30th April 2019, the prize is open to writers of any nationality, writing in English.

The complete shortlist is as follows:

J. D. Fennell, SLEEPER: THE RED STORM (The Dome Press)

Zeyn Joukhadar, THE MAP OF SALT AND STARS (Weidenfeld & Nicolson/Orion)

Henry Porter, FIREFLY (Quercus)

Craig Russell, THE DEVIL ASPECT (Constable/Little, Brown)

Jock Serong, PRESERVATION (Text Publishing)

Holly Watt, TO THE LIONS (Raven Books)

Niso Smith, Founder of The Wilbur & Niso Smith Foundation, says:

“This is a shortlist of heroes. The protagonists in these six novels inspired us with their courage, determination to pursue the truth, and stamina for survival in harsh surroundings. Each of these stories gave us what an adventure does in real life – a chance to learn about ourselves and the world, while getting the adrenaline pumping. All we can say is go and read these unique and wonderful books, we couldn’t put them down.”

The shortlist will be celebrated at Stanfords, Covent Garden, on 23rd May 2019, with a discussion on the nature of adventure in fiction. The event is ticketed, and open to the public.

Related Books



Quercus, 2018