Tara Isabella Burton Nominated for Shirley Jackson Award 2018

3rd May 2019

Tara Isabella Burton has been nominated for the 2018 Shirley Jackson Award for best novel, for Social Creature.

In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.” Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.

The Shirley Jackson Award will be voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards will be given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

The other four nominees in the novel category are:

In the Night Wood, Dale Bailey (John Joseph Adams)
We Sold Our Souls, Grady Hendrix (Quirk)
Everything Under, Daisy Johnson (Jonathan Cape)
Little Eve, Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

The awards will be presented July 14, 2019 at the Quincy Marriott in Quincy MA.