Yasmin Rahman and Kiran Millwood Hargrave Longlisted for Diverse Book Awards

3rd August 2020

Two Janklow & Nesbit authors have been longlisted for the inaugural Diverse Book Awards, a new prize ceremony to recognise inclusivity in children’s, YA and adult fiction. Yasmin Rahman’s All the Things We Never Said and Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s The Deathless Girls are in the YA longlist.

The awards were created by writing community The Author School and received more than 50 submissions in their first year. Shortlists will be revealed at the end of September, and the winners in each category announced in October.

The children’s and YA prizes will be judged by a panel including 14-year-old Rebekah Banda from south-east London and 15-year-old Alicia Cruz from north-west London. Other judges include Hashtag BLAK commissioning editor Luisa María Negret, This is Book Love founder Samantha Williams, Pen & Inc editor Rob Green and chair of the CILIP Youth Libraries Group London committee Caroline Fielding.

Winners from each category will receive a bundle of prizes including a trophy, a six-month PR and marketing membership of Literally PR’s “100 Club’”, a This Is Book Love bookshop listing, editorial in Pen & Inc, the opportunity to be part of an author panel event to be hosted by The Author School, and to be part of the Margate Bookie online festival programme in November.

The complete Young Adult Fiction longlist is:

All The Things We Never Said by Yasmin Rahman (Hot Key Books)
Becoming Dinah by Kit de Waal (Orion Children’s Books)
Chinglish: An Almost Entirely True Story by Sue Cheung (Andersen Press)
Oh My Gods by Alexandra Sheppard (Scholastic)
The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta (Hodder)
The Boxer by Nikesh Shukla (Hodder)
The Deathless Girls by Kiran Millwood Hargrave (Hachette)
The Tunnels Below by Nadine Wild-Palmer (Pushkin Children’s)

Related Books