Greg Chivers Shortlisted for 2020 Neukom Award

18th June 2020

Greg Chivers’ novel The Crying Machine has been shortlisted in the debut category of the 2020 Neukom Awards. Fellow shortlistee and Janklow & Nesbit Associates (US) author Ted Chiang, is in the open category with his hit Exhalation.

The shortlist was determined by Rockmore and his Dartmouth University colleagues Professors Tarek El-Ariss, Peter Orner, and Eric Schaller, as well as Santa Fe Institute Professor Jessica Flack.

The third annual speculative fiction awards program will be judged by spec fic writer Sam J. Miller, who also provided input on the shortlist selections.

“There’s lots to be angry about, and plenty of reasons for pessimism, but this list is proof that today’s speculative fiction writers can still help us imagine—and create—a better future,” said Miller. “I’m eager to dive into this list, and suddenly intensely terrified at the prospect of picking winners out of such an excellent list of books, encompassing work from well-known genre luminaries and bright new lights in the literary sky.”

Awards for both the debut and open book categories will be announced during the summer.

Each award winner will receive a $5,000 honorarium that is typically presented during a Dartmouth-hosted panel discussion about the genre and the winning works.

Related Books

The Crying Machine

The Crying Machine

Harper Voyager, 2019