The Trip to Echo Spring inspires rave reviews

7th August 2013

A stream of amazing reviews for Olivia Laing’s The Trip to Echo Spring, published by Canongate on 1 August:

‘Brilliant and original’, says John Carey in The Sunday Times. In The Times, John Sutherland writes, ‘Laing’s analysis of the complex addiction is consistently shrewd. But what makes The Trip to Echo Spring truly worthwhile is that she, like those she writes about, is a terrific writer. Cheers, Olivia.’

Read the full article >>

Lucy Hawking on Radio 4

23rd July 2013

Listen out for Lucy Hawking on Radio 4 on Friday as she explores the history of synthesizing speech over the last 200 years.

Read the full article >>

Sir John Eliot Gardiner to lead the Bach Archive Leipzig

15th July 2013

On January 1, 2014, Sir John Eliot Gardiner will become President of the Bach Archive Foundation. The function of Foundation president is a newly created one aimed at underscoring the internationally leading role of the Bach Archive and developing it further. Leipzig’s mayor, Burkhard Jung, succeeded in winning over Sir John Eliot - one of the world’s leading interpreters of eighteenth-century music - for this task during Bachfest Leipzig 2013.

Read the full article >>

The New Voices of Science

3rd July 2013

After the closure of long-term BBC Radio 4 science programme ‘Material World’, we are pleased to announce that Adam Rutherford, author of Creation, has been chosen as the voice of science on Radio 4 for the new weekly programme ‘Inside Science’, with Lucie Green, author of 15 Million Degrees taking on some of the hosting duties later on in the year.

The first programme will air tomorrow. Follow this link for more information.

Read the full article >>

Bronze Lion for H-57 at Cannes

24th June 2013

Gianmarco Milesi and Matteo Civaschi, the masterminds behind the H-57 Creative Station, have been awarded a Bronze Lion Award in the Design/ Books category of the Cannes International Festival of Creativity. Life In Five Seconds is a collection of over 200 visual snapshots that depict extraordinary lives, films and cultural icons in witty designs that can be deciphered in under five seconds.

Please follow this link for more information.

Read the full article >>

Body Electric wins Paris Literary Prize

18th June 2013

C.E. Smith has been announced as the winner of the Shakespeare & Company ‘Paris Literary Prize’ 2013 for his novella Body Electric, just published in a limited edition by Shakespeare & Co in conjunction with The White Review. We are delighted to have taken him on as a client.

Please follow this link for more information.

Read the full article >>

CrimeFest 2013

31st May 2013

Charles Cumming and Derek B. Miller will both be attending this year’s Bristol CrimeFest on the 1 & 2 June.

Charles Cumming will be discussing the spy novel with Michael Ridpath, while Derek B. Miller will present his debut novel Norwegian by Night, and what it is like being an American novelist living in Oslo.

Visit for the full line up.

Read the full article >>

Partners in Crime Tour

31st May 2013

This month Elly Griffiths, author of the brilliant Ruth Galloway series, joins Martin Walker and Colin Cotterill at book signings and festivals across the country as part of the Location Location Location 30 day Crime Tour.

Catch them in London, Bristol, Nottingham, Ely or Norwich and follow Elly on twitter @ellygriffiths for further information.

Read the full article >>

Gavin Corbett wins Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award

30th May 2013

Gavin Corbett has won the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award for his novel, This is the Way. The prize - the largest monetary award for fiction available solely to Irish authors - was announced last night at Listowel Writers’ Week. Joining Gavin on the short-list were Lucy Caldwell, Claire Kilroy, Kathleen MacMahon and Thomas O’Malley.

Read the full article >>

Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award

10th May 2013

Charles Cumming has been long-listed for this year’s Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. Now in its ninth year, the award was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing and is open to British and Irish authors.The short-list will be announced on the 6th June.

Read the full article >>