Three Janklow and Nesbit Authors on Royal Society Science Book Prize 2018 Shortlist

2nd August 2018

An extraordinary three titles by Janklow & Nesbit UK clients have been shortlisted for the Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize 2018: Inventing Ourselves by Sarah Jayne Blakemore, The Unexpected Truth About Animals by Lucy Cooke and Hello World by Hannah Fry.

Our six shortlisted books exemplify contemporary science writing at its best: all are grounded in rigorous research, hugely accessible and framed around a compelling narrative.” - Dame Frances Ashcroft FRS FMedSci, chair of the 2018 judging panel.

Read the full article >>

Here Design win D and AD Wood Pencil Award for Creative Excellence in Book Design

23rd July 2018

Here Design have been awarded D&AD Wood Pencil award for Creative Excellence in Book Design for THIS IS ME, FULL STOP. Exploring the secret lives of punctuation marks, THIS IS ME, FULL STOP takes the reader on a playful typographic journey through the wonderful world of grammar. The book was successfully pitched to publisher Penguin in response to its challenge to make a book aimed at both children and adults.

The D&AD Professional Awards are recognised globally as the ultimate creative accolade, entered and attended by the best from around the world.

Read the full article >>

Elly Griffiths Wins Two Prizes at The Dead Good Reader Awards 2018

23rd July 2018

Elly Griffiths has been awarded ‘The Holmes and Watson Award for Best Detective Duo’ and ‘The Dead Good Recommends Award for Most Recommended Book’ at the Dead Good Reader Awards 2018.

The winners were crowned at the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate on the 20th July, with Mark Lawson presiding over the ceremony. The shortlists were as follows:

The Holmes and Watson Award for Best Detective Duo:

Winner: Ruth Galloway and Harry Nelson – Elly Griffiths

Arthur Bryant and John May – Christopher Fowler

Read the full article >>

Olivia Laing Shortlisted for Gordon Burn Prize 2018

20th July 2018

Janklow & Nesbit client, Olivia Laing, has been shortlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize 2018.

The six-strong 2018 shortlist represents some of the most exciting fiction and non-fiction published in the UK and US today and showcases a rich variety of work by pioneering writers. Each of the six books shortlisted has been recognised by the judges for demonstrating an affinity with the spirit, preoccupations and artistry of Gordon Burn’s writing.

The shortlist for the Gordon Burn Prize 2018 is:

Census, Jesse Ball (Granta Books)
H(a)ppy, Nicola Barker (William Heinemann)

Read the full article >>

Elly Griffiths Tops Dead Good Reader Awards 2018

2nd July 2018

Elly Griffiths, author behind the Ruth Galloway series, has topped this year’s Dead Good Reader Awards shortlists by securing a total three nominations, while crime writers Ruth Ware, Clare Mackintosh, Tony Kent and Teresa Driscoll follow close behind with two nods apiece. Voted on by the Dead Good crime community, the awards recognise household names and newcomers alike, from Lee Child and Sarah Hilary to C J Tudor and Stuart Turton.

Read the full article >>

Kiran Millwood Hargrave Wins Historical Association Young Quills Award

29th June 2018

Kiran Millwood Hargrave has been awarded the Historical Association’s Young Quills Award in the 10-13 age category, for The Island at the End of Everything.

The Quills are a competition for newly published historical fiction for children and young adults (14+) – to qualify the book must have been published in the previous year, no earlier.

Read the full article >>

Olivia Laing Longlisted for Gordon Burn Prize 2018

6th June 2018

Thirteen titles are in the running for prize rewarding ‘some of the boldest and most fearless new books published in the United Kingdom and the United States’.

Alongside Crudo by Olivia Laing (Picador), the longlist for the Gordon Burn Prize 2018 is:

· To Throw Away Unopened, Viv Albertine (Faber & Faber)
· The Princess of Herself, Roberta Allen (Pelekinesis)
· Census, Jesse Ball (Granta)
· H(a)ppy, Nicola Barker (Heinemann)
· In Our Mad and Furious City, Guy Gunaratne (Tinder Press)
· Madame Zero, Sarah Hall (Faber & Faber)

Read the full article >>

Alex Bellos and Ben Lyttleton Shortlisted for Laugh Out Loud Award 2018

5th June 2018

Football Season 2: Where Football Saves the World by Alex Bellos and Ben Lyttleton and Spike Gerrell (Walker) has been shortlisted in the 9-13 year-olds category of the 2018 Laugh Out Loud Awards (The Lollies).

In the same category is Tom Gates: Epic Adventure (Kind Of) by Liz Pichon (Scholastic), My Mum’s Growing Down by Laura Dockrill and David Tazzyman (Faber), Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Almost Entirely Unplanned Adventure by A. L. Kennedy and Gemma Correll (Walker).

Read the full article >>

Data protection law has changed

25th May 2018

For an up to date understanding of how Janklow & Nesbit UK handle personal data, please read through our Data Protection Policy via the link on our About and Submissions pages.

If you have any questions regarding your data, please contact

Read the full article >>

Sharon Cohen shortlisted for Branford Boase Award 2018

2nd May 2018

Sharon Cohen’s debut novel, The Starman and Me, has been shortlisted for the 2018 Branford Boase Award.

Now in its 19th year, the Branford Boase is considered to be one of the most important awards in children’s literature. Of the award, the Branford Boase panel chair and children’s director of the Hay Festival, Julia Eccleshare, said ‘Each year the Branford Boase Award discovers authors with outstanding talent and promise: this year is no exception.’

Read the full article >>